Last week I discussed how we all learn to adapt to our current state of reality. Whether due to relationships, health, employment or unforeseen circumstances. There are times throughout life where each of us will feel comfortable and stable. Then, seemingly out of  nowhere, likely at the most inopportune moment, we are asked once again to adapt and change course. 

This may come as a two fold challenge. 

Firstly, allowing yourself to accept that a new path must be chosen so quickly. 

Secondly, reminding yourself it will be okay. 

In my case, I have recently found myself in a space both comfortable and stable. My search for part time work is well on its way, my family is in good health and I am feeling good about the momentum created with my writing. Pull open the curtain, and there are forces at work reminding me to always have my head in a swivel. 

I almost did not write this week, as mentally and physically I am not in that stable space. As many may already know, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 2007. Since this diagnosis and the countless relapses I have experienced since, my life seems to be in a constant state of adaptability. For the last week I have had worsening dizziness/vertigo, speech problems were I cannot find words, when I do they come out in the wrong order and most of all, weakness in my legs. Over the last week or so, my left leg feels as though it’s gone for a walk without me. Meaning, I do not feel it which creates an issue when walking up or down stairs or even a straight line. 

For those without a condition such as MS this may seem absurd. Even for those with the condition it seems absurd. In this past week I have adapted my routine to fit my present reality. If I maintained pace, my symptoms would more than likely worsen. Rather than allowing that to happen, my family has aided in many ways. My wife has made sure to complete the household tasks I usually would have. My mother took our two children over the weekend which allowed me the time to rest. 

Through experience I have learned by not accepting the support of others at these times, I set myself back. By not adapting my mindset to the situation, I create much frustration in not only my life but the lives of those trying to help as well. By forging ahead in a smart manner, these symptoms my be lessened in the length they will be present. With a positive mindset, the physical symptoms may not be impacted although the mental stress is far less prevalent. 

I found years ago, by being transparent with my experiences I find great healing. When not open with my experiences, both current and previous, I feel sheltered and somewhat alone. Whether MS related or Ostomy related, I have encountered people who felt the same way. Through open and honest conversation, we are able to find a commonality in our lives. This gives others a strong reassurance that life moves forward, while also reminding me of the same. 

I hope the thought you take away this week is one of assurance.  Assurance that through time, life does get better, does move forward and for what it’s worth, does give valuable experiences to be shared with others. 

3 thoughts on “

Add yours

  1. Your blog is very inspiring. I too have MS and have had bad colitis attack. Is a possitive mind day in and day out that keeps me going. I also have faith that God is seeing us through this. Bless you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Sandy. I’ve lived a charmed life for sure. Life with an ostomy, MS along with Pyoderma Gangrenosum has taught me a great deal.
      I feel encouraged to share my story to help others understand life does get better. And can be experienced with a smile on your face and a smirk in your soul.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

joanjordan

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sparkle With UC

Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go

Reflection & Renewal

Creative Writing by Mary Pettigrew

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

Trails: Adventures in Real Life

Navigating the wilderness of life and other adventures

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

It Could Be Worse Blog

My Journey Through Crohn's Disease, Veteran Healthcare & Other Issues.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Just that one Girl

teenager trying to find her way

fitnessandguts

motivate | educate | entertain

A Real Pain in the Ass

24 year old British bird with Crohn's Disease and way too much to say

A Chronic Spoonful

Thoughts and stories from the world of chronic pain, illness, and disability

Heart of Faith

"I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me"

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

joanjordan

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sparkle With UC

Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go

Reflection & Renewal

Creative Writing by Mary Pettigrew

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

Trails: Adventures in Real Life

Navigating the wilderness of life and other adventures

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

It Could Be Worse Blog

My Journey Through Crohn's Disease, Veteran Healthcare & Other Issues.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Just that one Girl

teenager trying to find her way

fitnessandguts

motivate | educate | entertain

A Real Pain in the Ass

24 year old British bird with Crohn's Disease and way too much to say

A Chronic Spoonful

Thoughts and stories from the world of chronic pain, illness, and disability

Heart of Faith

"I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me"

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

