In the moment

What is the earliest memory you have of your life?

The earliest memory I have, is of wooden banisters near the front door of the home we lived in until I was three years old. Out of all memories one could have, this is the one for me. I do not remember what was happening around me or what I was doing. I just remember the wooden banisters in my minds eye. 

Years ago, when my father was visiting, we drove past that old house. I began to speak of this memory. He chuckled and said I would always play around those banisters near the front door because I loved racing my cars on the door mat. Looking at the outside of the house, there was no “ah ha!!” moment where I could remember our family living there. For me it was a nondescript mundane house. 

I often wonder why this is my first memory, why it has stuck with me until this point of my life. We do not choose our first memory, it simply is our first memory. 

This premise correlates heavily with life in general. For the most part, we cannot explain unequivocally why our lives turn out as they do through time. We experience childhood how our parents raise us. We gain personal experiences as our minds grow and develop unique perspectives and personalities. We build relationships with others dependent on shared values and thoughts. 

We are in control of our lives, our destinies. Although there are mechanisms in place where life takes the reins. We do not have a say in which way life will take us. We simply adapt to the changing circumstances of life. 

Without agility, life would be stagnant. Stale. Unforgiving. Without correcting our courses with changing paths in life, we cannot fully live in the present. Without learning from past memories we cannot fully live in the present. 

Lastly, without living in the moment everyday, we cannot fully live in the present. 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

joanjordan

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sparkle With UC

Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go

Reflection & Renewal

Creative Writing by Mary Pettigrew

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

Trails: Adventures in Real Life

Navigating the wilderness of life and other adventures

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

It Could Be Worse Blog

My Journey Through Crohn's Disease, Veteran Healthcare & Other Issues.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Just that one Girl

teenager trying to find her way

fitnessandguts

motivate | educate | entertain

A Real Pain in the Ass

24 year old British bird with Crohn's Disease and way too much to say

A Chronic Spoonful

Thoughts and stories from the world of chronic pain, illness, and disability

Heart of Faith

"I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me"

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

joanjordan

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sparkle With UC

Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go

Reflection & Renewal

Creative Writing by Mary Pettigrew

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

Trails: Adventures in Real Life

Navigating the wilderness of life and other adventures

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

It Could Be Worse Blog

My Journey Through Crohn's Disease, Veteran Healthcare & Other Issues.

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Just that one Girl

teenager trying to find her way

fitnessandguts

motivate | educate | entertain

A Real Pain in the Ass

24 year old British bird with Crohn's Disease and way too much to say

A Chronic Spoonful

Thoughts and stories from the world of chronic pain, illness, and disability

Heart of Faith

"I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me"

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

